Skip to content

Big success for flag football season

By Rémi Laflamme (special collaboration) The Rémabec flag football league recently ended its 38th season. Below is a summary of the main highlights.

In the regular season, the “Brassette du Coin” team of captains Pierre-Alexandre Delisle and Dave Loyer was declared champion with a record of 9 wins, 2 losses and 1 draw, ahead of second place “FX Lamontagne” by 4 points. The champions also improved their own record for the number of points allowed in a season by dropping the mark of 112, set in 2010, with a meager total of 109. An average of less than ten points per game!

On a personal level, Hugo Ricard had a whole season dominating the scorers’ ranking with 98 points, as well as the column of touchdowns (16) and interceptions (7). Myckael Vallée was the leader in passes sacks with 49. In terms of quarterback sacks, Olivier Audy, with 23, broke the record of 21 held by Mickael Hébert since 2002. Francis Larouche, for his part, led the category for the fourth consecutive year. of “deflagges” (act of removing the “flag” from the opponent in possession of the ball) in order to confirm his reputation as King of deflagging!

Make way for the series

The first semi-final was against L’Écho de La Tuque, who had earned his place by defeating the Stratos in the quarter-finals, against the favorites, the Brass7 team. The latter, more rested, took the measure of their opponents quite easily. The other semi-final pitted # 2 position FX Lamontagne, deprived of several good elements, against # 3 Coors Light position. One-sided match won by the Coors Light troops, who, as in the second half of the season, had an impeccable performance. However, the beautiful Coors Light course hit a wall in the grand finale! In fact, the Brass7 steamroller continued its work of destruction until the end of hostilities, thus giving the Delisle / Loyer duo their second Spanish Cup as captains, their first conquest dating back to 2011.

Deserving players

At the end of the season gala, the most deserving players in the different categories were awarded. Kirk Dinan and Benjamin Dupont-Leclerc tied for the “Rookie of the Year” title. The league’s dean, Kathleen Riberdy, closely followed by a new signing, Magy Boissonneault, who opened many eyes with a spectacular catch during the playoffs, picked up the “Player of the Year” award, a deserved honor for this active player. for twenty years in the league. Olivier Audy, with his new record for quarterback sacks, meanwhile won the “Defensive Player” trophy. And finally, Hugo Ricard, in a close fight with the player most responsible for his success, his quarterback Robin Laflamme, who also had an excellent season, collected the coveted Patrick-Morin trophy awarded to the most successful player. .

League leaders have promised some changes for next season, including a return to the 7v7 format on the field, as well as the disappearance of some generally compiled statistics, all in an effort to bring back a slightly less competitive and more competitive environment. focused on the friendly and fun side of sport. They also thanked their precious sponsors, without whom the league’s survival would be very difficult.

Rémi Laflamme and Francis Larouche, Co-Chairs

(function(d, s, id){ var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) {return;} js = d.createElement(s); = id; js.src = ""; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk')); Breaking News 24/7 Copr.