Skip to content
Biking – Tour of Poland (E4): Almeida wins and consolidates his chief’s jersey

Biking – Tour of Poland (E4): Almeida wins and consolidates his chief’s jersey

Posted on August 12; 2021 at 7:10 p.m.


Profiting from the apt work of his Deceuninck-Fast Step workforce within the closing of the 4th stage of the Tour of Poland; João Almeida overtook Matej Mohoric on the prime of the Bukovina Resort and consolidates his yellow chief’s jersey a miniature extra.

João Almeida might be qualified to thank Rémi Cavagna and Mikkel Honoré! Portuguese; already winner of the 2nd stage of the Tour of Poland; took benefit of the queen stage and the arrival at Bukovina Resort to widen the hole a miniature extra on the prime of the final classification of the occasion. A fourth stage shorter than the primary three; simply 159.9 km from Tarnow; whose route was fraught with difficulties. Which attracts the wishes of the peloton backpackers. Following a primary try by Clément Davy and Jonas Rickaert; it’s a group of 5 pilots who managed to partition from the peloton. Larry Warbasse; Quinten Hermans; Edward Theuns; Attila Valter and Marco Canola shortly took the lead approaching three minutes; however the Deceuninck-Fast Step workforce rolled very beforetime to restrict this hole for some time.; which nonetheless by no means exceeded 4 minutes. The -Wolfpack– was supported by the UAE Crew Emirates formation on the cusp of the final  60 kilometers; with a a lot steeper closing approaching. The end result was a free topple hole for the main runner. Just below 40 kilometers from the end; Alexis Renard stepped on the pedals; the French driver from the Israel Begin-Up Nation workforce tried to fabricate the connection.

Almeida has improved the work of his workforce

However their try become a “potato chase” of slightly below 20 kilometers lengthy that ended with the return of the platoon. On the forefront; the breakaway started to unravel with Edward Theuns giving up ten miles from aim; adopted by Larry Warbasse. With the peloton shortly returning to the breakaway; Attila Valter remoted himself on the head of the race as the ultimate ten kilometers approached; managing to go solely the highest of the penultimate issue; Lapszanka. It was an acceleration of the coaching of the Grenadiers of the Ineos that keep an stop to the initiative of the Hungarian pilot of the Groupama-FDJ workforce. On the foot of the final  climb to the Bukovina Resort; the Deceuninck-Fast Step workforce performed the collective card. Certainly; French champion Rémi Cavagna keep a begin to launch Mikkel Honoré. The Dane then made João Almeida’s rivals; together with UAE Crew Emirates and Bahrain Victorious; spin to secure revenge on him. As soon as Mikkel Honoré took over; the Portuguese was qualified to begin the dash 400 meters from the end line; pulling down Matej Mohoric for a second stage triumph on this Tour of Poland forward of the Slovenian and Italian Andrea Vendrame. Within the bonus recreation; João Almeida fell 4 seconds behind Matej Mohoric; who’s now aiming for eight seconds; when Diego Ulissi drops to 14.

UCI world tour

Poland tour
Stage 4 – Tarnow-Bukovina Resort (159.9 km) – Thursday; August 12; 2021
1- João Almeida (POR / Deceuninck-Fast Step) at 3:51’32 *
2- Matej Mohoric (SLO / Bahrain victorious) mt
3- Andrea Vendrame (ITA / AG2R-Citroën) mt
4- Michal Kwiatkowski (POL / Ineos Grenadiers) mt
5- Dion Smith (NZL / BikeExchange) mt
6- Jai Hindley (NZL / DSM) mt
7- Ulysses Diego (GBR / Crew Emirates UAE) mt
8- Ben Tulett (GBR / Alpecin-Fenix) mt
9- Antonio Tiberi (ITA / Trek-Segafredo) mt
10- Quinten Hermans (BEL / Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux) mt

General classification following 4 levels (out of seven)
1- João Almeida (POR / Deceuninck-Fast Step) at 6:52’24 *
2- Matej Mohoric (SLO / Victorious Bahrain) at 8 *
3- Ulysses Diego (GBR / Crew Emirates UAE) A 14 *
4- Michal Kwiatkowski (POL / Ineos Grenadiers) in 21 *
5- 32 * Jai Hindley (NZL / DSM)
6- Dylan Teuns (BEL / Bahrain Victorious) at 32 *
7- Lorenzo Rota (ITA / Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux) at 32 *
8- Giovanni Aleotti (ITA / Bora-Hansgrohe) at 32 *
9- Einer Rubio (COL / Movistar) at 36 *
10- Tim Wellens (BEL / Lotto-Soudal) at 36 *

#Biking #Tour #Poland #Almeida #wins #consolidates #leaders #jersey Breaking Information 24/7 Copr.